OSL Network

The OSL project is a collaboration of about 40 universities and research centers from Russia and Germany to promote multidisciplinary research in the field of polar and marine sciences.

OSL partners and funding

» German Federal Ministry for Education and Research

» Ministry for Education and Science of the Russian Federation

» Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI), St. Petersburg, Russia

» Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Bremerhaven, Germany

» Federal Service for Hydrometeorology and Environmental Monitoring, Moscow, Russia
» GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research, Kiel, Germany


The OSL network

» Academy of Sciences, Humanities and Literature Mainz
» A.M. Obukhov Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow
» A.V. Zhirmunsky Institute of Marine Biology, Vladivostok
» Bremen University
» Centre for Ecological and Productivity Research in Forests RAS, Moscow
» Cologne University
» Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources, Hannover
» Federal Institute of Hydrology, Koblenz
» Freie Universitaet Berlin
» Hamburg University
» Helmholtz Centre Potsdam – GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
» Helmholtz Moscow Office, Moscow
» Herzen State Pedagocial University, St. Petersburg
» Hydrobase, Tiksi
» Hydrometeorological Institute, St. Petersburg
» Institute of Lithosphere, Moscow
» Institute of Volcanology and Seismology, Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky
» Institute of Water Problems, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow
» International Arctic Research Center, Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
» I.S. Gramberg All-Russian Research Institute of Geology and Mineral Resources of the World Ocean VNIIOkeangeologia, St. Petersburg
» Jena University
» Kazan State University
» Kiel University
» Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology, Bremen
» Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemünde, Rostock
» Lena Delta Reserve, Tiksi
» Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow
» Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry, Jena
» Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg
» Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
» Moscow State Pedagogical University
» Novgorod State University
» Orel State University
» P.P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology, Moscow
» P.P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology, Atlantic Branch, Kaliningrad
» Paleontological Institute, St. Petersburg
» Paleontological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow
» Permafrost Institute, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Yakutsk
» Rostock University
» Polar Research Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanography, Northern Branch (SevPINRO), Arkhangelsk
» Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow
» Russian State Hydrometeorological University, St. Petersburg
» Severtsov Institute of Ecology and Evolution, Moscow
» Siberian Federal University, Krasnoyarsk
» St. Petersburg State Mining Institute
» St. Petersburg State University
» State Hydrological Institute, St. Petersburg
» Trier University
» V.I. Il`ichev Pacific Oceanological Institute of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (POI FEB RAS), Vladivostok, Russia
» V.I. Vernadsky Institute for Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry RAS (GEOKHI RAS), Moscow
» V.N. Sukachev Institute of Forest SB RAS, Krasnoyarsk
» White Sea Biological Station, Zoological Institute RAS, St. Petersburg
» North-Eastern Federal Ammosov University, Yakutsk
» Zoological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg